Students are involved in a range of compulsory subjects complemented by electives throughout their junior and senior schooling. The make-up of subjects is dependent on the year level and stage

Junior School

The Junior School curriculum is based around the six key learning areas set by the NSW Board of Studies for Primary Schooling (Stages 1 to 3, or Years K to 6). These key learning areas are termed English, Mathematics, Science and Technology, Human Society and Its Environment (HSIE), Creative Arts, and Personal Development, Health and Physical Education (PDHPE).

Lessons that are taken by specialist teachers run for the whole lesson. Other lessons are organized by class teachers into lessons of 10, 20 and 30 minute blocks. Morning sessions concentrate on the Language and Mathematic areas of the curriculum. Specialist subjects are, as far as practical, timetabled for the late morning or afternoon sessions.

A Junior School Assembly is held fortnightly, and alternates with a Chapel Service. Within the curriculum, children are encouraged to be involved in a variety of ‘hands on’ activities. This applies to every subject area. Provision is made for the fact that there are a wide range of general abilities within a class group. The Junior School aims to provide a program of learning experiences that ensures that all children experience success and that the more able are challenged. Opportunities are provided for children to work co-operatively in pairs and in groups, planning, sharing ideas, helping others and, in turn, being helped.

Senior School

Years 7 and 8 are important experiential and formative years, during which students are given the opportunity to study courses from a diverse range of different Subject Areas leading to Year 10. While much of what is studied during this stage of education is mandated by the New South Wales Board of Studies, the College believes that students need to ensure that they have mastered the foundation skills upon which later studies will rely. In the first four years of Senior School study, students need to be engaged in the substantial study of each of the following courses in each year of the program: English, Mathematics, Science, History, Geography, Personal Development, and Health and Physical Education. The College also requires students to undertake classes in Religious and Values Education throughout.

In Years 7 and 8, students also complete mandatory studies in the following subjects: Technology (which incorporates Computing Studies), Music, Visual Arts, and a Language other than English (at present, French).

In Years 9 and 10, students are able to add various elective courses in these subject areas to their course of study. This diverse range of courses fulfils the needs of the majority of students; however, those who need extension beyond the outcomes set down for ‘Stage Three and Four’ (traditionally completed during Years 7 and 8) or ‘Stage Five’ (Years 9 and 10) will be offered the opportunity to complete work that is suitably challenging.

Preliminary & HSC Years

The New South Wales HSC is a two-year course.  In Year 11 students study the Preliminary Course.  In Year 12 students study the Higher School Certificate Course.  For the majority of subjects, topics studied in Year 11 are not examinable in Year 12.  However, the skills, knowledge and learning experiences are important groundwork for the Higher School Certificate year.  Students must satisfactorily complete the courses in Year 11.  To achieve this, students must have:

• Followed the Course developed or endorsed by the Board of Studies.
• Applied himself/herself with diligence and sustained effort to set tasks and experiences in the Course.
• Achieved some or all of the Course outcomes.

All Courses in the HSC have a Unit value.  The majority of courses are of 2 Unit value.  A 2 Unit subject receives a final result out of 100.  There are a limited number of 1 Unit Courses available.  These receive a result out of 50.

Requirements for the award of the HSC

To be awarded the NSW Higher School Certificate students must:

1. Study a minimum of 12 Units in the Preliminary Year (Year 11) and a minimum of 10 Units in the HSC Year (Year 12).
2. Include in Year 11 and Year 12:

• At least 6 Units from Board Developed Courses
• 2 Units of a Board Developed Course in English
• 3 Courses of 2 Unit value or greater
• 4 Subjects

Requirements at Trinity Anglican College

In Year 11 students must study a minimum of 12 units, (with the option of studying 13 Units). English is compulsory. Mathematics is not compulsory, however, it is recommended that you seriously consider including a Mathematics subject in your pattern of study.

Students select five 2-unit elective courses from the subjects listed on the final line offerings.
In Year 12 the majority of students will study 10 units.  Although it is recommended that students study 11 or 12 units if they possess the academic ability.

All 1 unit subjects are taught off timetable. This means that these subjects will have classes before or after school; students selecting these subjects must be committed to either starting their school day earlier or completing it after the scheduled 3.10pm finish. The days and times of these ‘off timetable’ classes will be negotiated with students when the classes are finalised.